RSS

UFC 78 Validation: Bisbing vs. Evans…

17 Nov

rashad.jpg

UFC 78 goes off tonight at The Prudential Center in New Jersey featuring a main event of two undefeated light heavyweights in Rashad Evans and Michael “The Count” Bisbing.  As both fighters are TUF winners and are both coming off controversial fights, this match should be a slugfest to say the least. 

The undercard for this event looks great.  Leave your predictions in a comment and see if you can beat me!

Houston Alexander vs. Thiago Silva (undefeated)

Joe Doerksen vs. Ed Herman

Ryo Chonan vs. Karo Parisyan

Frank Edgar Vs. Spencer Fisher

Chris Lytle Vs. Thiago Alves

Despite the fact that Rashad looks like he wants to get gay with Bisbing in the above photo, I think he will come off with the win.  Click on the pic for a detailed fight card or click here for the BAR LIST of where you can watch the fights. 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2007 in Author, Mazz, MMA

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “UFC 78 Validation: Bisbing vs. Evans…

  1. Mazz

    November 17, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    My predictions are;
    Evans – Tito is tougher than Hamill and Bisbing didn’t even win that shit. Bisbing is a really boring fighter to watch so I hope Rashad beats his ass.

    Alexander – No one is gonna beat this dude anytime soon cept maybe Rampage. I feel bad for anyone who has to fight him. I bet Dana White will never match this guy against Chuck for fear that Chucks face will be launched into the balcony. His fight moniker should be “Brain Damage”. lol

    Doerksen – I saw him fight in WEC and he looked good. Dude has like 30+ subs. Herman is overrated and Doerksen is underated. Doerksen will make him his bitch.

    Parisyan – Not too familiar with Chonan but having his first fight in UFC against Parisyan is a stupid idea for anyone regardless of skill…

    Edgar – Sick. gonna be a war though. Someone is gonna get cut. Should be a good grappling war too.

    Alves – Another war but Alves is sick too. I predict a KO or ref stoppage.

    I think I’m goin 6-0 on this one…

     
  2. tnell

    November 17, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    I got:

    Bisping – I think Bisping will bang out a decision for some reason. He’ll be able to neutralize Evans’ wrestling and work his better stand-up. I see a boring fight in the main event. The only reason Rashad drew with Tito was because of that b/s point deduction when Tito grabbed the cage. This is his first real test against a good striker. I’m leaning towards ‘the Count.’

    Alexander – I really like this guy. He seemed cool as hell at the presser yesterday giving major props to his team and also taking his hat off to Silva. I didn’t realize he was 35 either. Too bad he couldn’t have gotten to the big stage a little earlier. My prediction is this will be fight of the night and end in a KO with Houston winning via his usual method of bullying and raw strength. He won’t take Thiago Silva lightly. Dude could end it just as quick as Houston could.

    Herman – He’ll win as long as he can avoid the submissions. Being a good BJJ guy, I think he can. Herman has great ground and pound and a lot of heart. Not to mention he’s sorta under a lot of pressure to put up a string of wins if he ever wants to take it up another notch. Doerksen has a ton of fights under his belt and has been in there with world-class fighters so I’m seeing this as being pretty entertaining too.

    Parisyan – I don’t know much about Chonan. I don’t think the UFC does either since the only thing listed under his strengths are ‘Fighting Spirit.’ But I don’t bet against Karo and this won’t be an exception. My favorite fighter in the UFC and I see him slugging out a KO win.

    Spencer Fisher – Another candidate for fight of the night. Edgar is the hometown guy and will have to hold his own against Fisher. Fisher’s stand-up is too on point IMO. He’ll have the New Jersey crowd booing in disappointment.

    Thiago Alves – Alves is a beast. He brings it every second of the fight and has a slight edge in striking. This should no doubt end in a knock-out.

    Good overall card with KO’s written all over it. I’m goin 6-0 bittttch!

     
  3. Willie The Future Fells

    November 18, 2007 at 12:24 am

    Rashad is a fucking fighter he is going to destroy bisbing UFC is different than the old fighters the new fighters straight up want to beat your dam head in 5 rounds of fucking fighting not submission. ITS a new era Knockout

     
  4. Mazz

    November 18, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    Haha Edgar won it for me. CHEAH!

    I can’t believe Alexander lost. I woulda went 5-1 if Doerksen pulled off that triangle before the bell.

     
  5. tnell

    November 18, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Alexander’s ground game got exposed in the worst way. He reminds me of Kongo in his first UFC bouts with the lack of a ground game. He’ll work it for sure in time for his next fight.

    This card turned out to be pretty whack. Dana White needs to go back to the way he used to have it where there would be events every couple of months or so and just load up the cards.

     
  6. fighter mama

    November 19, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    I think Mazz must have been testing the waters to see how many people would pay for a second tier card. For the first time, we didn’t pay. I think Hamill was robbed in England, Bisping is a jerk, and Evans is the most boring fighter out there. Oh well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
